#23. 9 February 2017. Calf

9-feb-2017-calf

God, I found this hard! I intended originally to draw a group of animals, all pointing different ways, which seemed like quite a witty, interesting composition; but I was just drawing in my lunch hour and got stuck on the calf. The muscles and bones of the legs were challenging. When I began I was alone and when I finished, there were a dozen sketchers in that section of the museum, all silently working away. Although this was frustrating, I liked the subject and angle, calf delicately floating en pointe, inevitably recalling Damien Hirst.

Note re materials: I recently won a £20 museum shop voucher in a draw and had to use it in one transaction, so I purchased three beautiful Circulo sketchbooks by Paper-Oh which I would never normally have splashed out on. Beautiful quality paper, which lies flat, and has a magnetic closure. (I sound like I am being sponsored, don’t I? I’m not!)

One comment

Leave a Reply

