image 124 21 May 2017. Bluebell through magnifier.

I recently bought a handheld magnifier for plant identification (and for true spoddyness, I wear it on a lanyard round my neck.) So I tried a blind drawing of a bluebell using the lens. I really needed three hands for this though, as you have to bring the flower up to the lens, and it has a very short range.

For those not familiar with the concept, blind drawings are where you look at only the object as you draw. I’ve had the most interesting results where the paper is truly out of view ie beneath a desk; otherwise it’s too easy to take a keek. Blind drawing is a really good way to “research” an object before you draw it with your eyes open.

3 comments

Leave a Reply

